Thank You!

We have had so much support, inspiration and encouragement and would like to thank many people ... our list of thanks will grow as the year unfolds.

Support, Encouragement & Inspiration

Ian Hunter, Celia Larner (Littoral) - for setting Rob off to photograph barns in 2007-8; meeting the farmers was the inspiration he needed. And for being part of the initial kernal of the idea of Land Keepers, for hosting the pilot exhibition 'Rare Breed' in 2011, and for your continued support.

Fay Godwin - for photographs of Cumbrian farmers, taken in the late 1990s. An inspiration. Some of the young boys who were in Fay's photographs will be featured in Land Keepers as grown up farmers, and fathers.

Clive Wickham & LDNPA - for helping this get started, and for supporting the project through the Sustainable Development Fund.

Adrian Banford & Alison Love at RDPE - for encouragement and really practical guidance, including funding advice.

Viv Lewis at The Federation of Cumbria Commoners - for support and encouragement all along and lots of information.

Amanda Carson, Herdwick Sheep Breeders Association - for passion, encouragement, information and quick answers to emails.

Edwin Booth of Booths - for believing this project was a good idea, and supporting us.

Paul Harper & Will Rawling at The Farmer Network - for working in partnership, consulting on the direction of the project, and many introductions to farmers.

Shirley Muir at The Farmer Network - for guidance and support

Bunty Wright, of FWAG - for exceptionally positive encouragement and information (FWAG is no longer active)

Terry McCormick  (formerly of ACT) - for enthusiasm and interest in the early stages.

Steering Group, for ongoing consultation:

Alan Alderson (Swaledale Sheep Breeders Association)
Anne Blackburn (LDNPA)
Will Cockbain (Defra Rep for Upland Farmers)
Nigel Cokell (Booths)
Paul Harper (Farmer Network)
Simon Humphries (Natural England)
Neil Johnson (National Trust)
Viv Lewis (Federation of Cumbrian Commoners)
Will Rawling (Farmer Network)

Exhibition Space:
Jeff Cowton and The Wordsworth Trust
Alison Park at Low Sizergh Barn
National Trust at Wray Castle
Denise Prior at The Royal Geographical Society with IBG

Anthony Hartley 1


Our core farmers, who have welcomed us onto their farms and let us step into their world for a bit, taken us gathering, had us alongside them at meetings ... Thank you to you, and to your families.

Gavin Bland (West Head, Thirlmere)
Hannah Dickinson (Brockstones, Kentmere)
Antony Hartley (Turner Hall, Seathwaite)
John Rowland (Low Beckside, Mungrisedale)

And many other farmers who have chatted with us, shown them around their farms, shared their stories.

Alan Alderson (Kirkby Stephen)
Isaac & Kerrie Benson (Little Langdale)
Jonathan Benson (Great Langdale)
Will Benson (Grasmere)
Alistair Birkett (St John's in the Vale)
Andrew Birkett (Langdale & Duddon Valley)
Peter Bland (Grasmere)
David Bland (Thirlmere)
Richard Clegg (Duddon Valley)
Will Cockbain (Keswick)
Phil & Mike Edmonson (Great Langdale)
Pam Hall (St Johns in the Vale)
Sam & Candida Hodgson (Glencoyne)
Stephen Lord (Borrowdale, Kendal)
Heather Naylor-Lopez (Wasdale)
Alison O’Neill (Sedbergh)
Richard Postlethwaite (Haweswater)
Andrew Race (Burnthwaite, Wasdale)
Will Rawling (Ennerdale)
James Rebanks (Matterdale)
Jean & Derrick Wilson (Matterdale)
Joe & Hazel Relph (Borrowdale, Keswick)
Joe & Doris Richardson (Lamplugh)
Eric Taylforth (Great Langdale)
Lizzy Weir (Freelance farm hand)
Glenn & Dorothy Wilkinson (Tilberthwaite)
Hilary & John Wilson (Tebay)

Individuals from organisations connected with farming and the land. Thank you for meeting us for interviews, and sharing your views.

Julia Aglionby (Foundation for Common Land)
Stephen Airey (Airey's Abattoir and Farm Shop)
Adrian Banford (RDPE)
Pete Barron (Ranger, LDNPA)
Nigel Cokell (Booths Supermarket)
Jan Darell & Jack Ellerby (Friends of the Lake District)
Tim Farron (MP, Westmorland & Lonsdale)
Philip Grant (Vice Principal, Newton Rigg College)
Paul Harper (Farmer Network Cumbria)
Andrew Humphries (Founder, Foundation for Common Land; Board Member, Newton Rigg College)
Simon Humphries (Natural England)
Viv Lewis (Federation of Cumbria Commoners)
Robin Milton (NFU, Uplands Representative, Exmoor)
Neil Johnson (National Trust)
Richard Leafe (CEO, LDNPA)
Rory Stewart (MP, Penrith & The Border)
Veronica Waller (Farmer Network, Princes Countryside Fund)
The women at Woolclip

You are viewing the text version of this site.

To view the full version please install the Adobe Flash Player and ensure your web browser has JavaScript enabled.

Need help? check the requirements page.

Get Flash Player